My bags are packed

Last week I finally “finished” packing my hospital bags. I suppose it was about time, considering I’m past 37 weeks now and considered full term. It still doesn’t feel like it will happen that soon though. I have a gut feeling I’ll go over term, but you never know.

Here are my bags

s1033616

This is what the Clinique St. Michel said we should pack:

For labour:
Mom

  • 2 large nightgowns
  • 1 robe
  • slippers
  • toiletries
  • 2 small towels & 2 bath mits
  • 1 bath towel

Baby

  • 1 baby-body
  • 1 pajama
  • 1 cap

For maternity stay:
Mom

  • 6 breastfeeding-friendly nightgowns
  • 20 underpants (cotton or disposable)
  • 3 breastfeeding bras
  • various towels and bath mits
  • toiletry bag

Baby

  • 6 pajamas with feet
  • 6 baby-bodies
  • 10 towels and bath mits
  • 6 bibs
  • brush and comb
  • baby cap and scratch mits
  • 1 small blanket

Well, these numbers seemed ridiculous to me for a max 5 day stay, considering we live very close to the hospital and can easily wash and bring in more clothes. So, this is what I actually packed:

For labour:
Me

  • 2 large nightgowns
  • 1 robe
  • slippers
  • toiletries
  • 2 small towels & 2 bath mits
  • 1 bath towel
  • gum
  • some breast pads
  • water spray
  • paper with positions for labour

Baby

  • 1 baby-body
  • 1 pajama
  • 1 cap
  • scratch mits

For maternity stay:
Mom

  • 2 breastfeeding-friendly nightgowns
  • 10 underpants (cotton + 5 disposable)
  • 3 breastfeeding bras
  • 2 towels
  • 1 pair warm socks
  • reading lamp

Baby

  • 6 pajamas with feet
  • 6 baby-bodies
  • 1 towel and  2 bath mits
  • 1 bath cape
  • 6 bibs
  • brush and comb
  • baby cap and scratch mits
  • 1 small blanket
  • 3 disposable diapers

I still plan to add camera & charged batteries and some entertainment material to the labour bag (maybe some snacks – nuts – as well), and reading material, flip flops and a going home outfit for sprout in the maternity bag. R  & my mom will be bringing in extra towels as needed and taking laundry home for washing.

So, is there anything I’m missing?

Leave a Reply

